Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an 08 tc with a manual transmission and i sort of hate it. I have around 9,000 miles on it and i feel like its my first day driving stick almost every time i drive my car. Shifting from 1st to 2nd is never smooth and i feel like a beginner every time i shift from 1st to 2nd. (other gears obviously get smoother the higher up i go)

Is it just my car that has this problem or is anyone else unable to shift smoothly without releasing the clutch very slowly? I shift at around 2700 rpm - 3000 rpm; could that be the problem? When do most of you shift if you are just driving around the city?

Anyway... before i start getting comments about me being a terrible driver, my first car was a manual civic and i drove that for 6 yrs. I also used to work for a valet company and have driven almost every type of car with manual transmission and have never encountered a worse transition from 1st to 2nd during my time working there.

Any ideas or thoughts are much appreciated.

·
Destroyer of Cones
7,513 Posts
clutch is fine, I have no issues shifting it.

The tC has relatively short gears, so you may just be having trouble getting used to shifting it.

·
Registered
58 Posts
It's just how the thing is built really. Coming from an SI myself I'll say that the shift smoothness, clutch engagement speed and build quality are nowhere near a Honda manual transmission on even their most basic of cars. The feel of the thing is similar to Mazda and Mitsubishi transmissions in my experience, with the shifter being less ropy and imprecise in Toyotas.

Not bad but not great, it just takes some time to get used to. 1st to 2nd was rough for me when I was just learning the car but you get it down after some miles.

·
Ironhead
12,859 Posts
Yeah, what he said. And I would still swap out for the Redline.

·
Registered
65 Posts
QUOTE (Mr. Deep @ Feb 16 2009, 12:28 PM) index.php?act=findpost&pid=453538