Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I bought a 06 Scion tC with the audio upgrade to the ipod stuff.

I did not buy the 10" subwoofer cause I thought it would end up too pricey ($450!)
I found the exact same part on other websites for almost 200 dollars less, but I wanted to ask about it first.

I don't know what to do.
I kind of want the subwoofer option it came with, and found it for $264.
But I'm told 100 watts isn't much and I could buy better for cheaper.

I don't need anything crazy, I just figured for about the same price if I can get something nicer I might as well try!
What kind/size/watt subwoofer should I get, and what amp will I need to get? will it be a problem or take up too much room? Would it look weird or be a hard install?

I've never upgraded or modified any car before. Never bought a new sound system or anything. Always driven older cars, I'm a college student, and this is my first new car!
(so I really meant it when I said "for newbs" -keep it in noob for me heh)

What do you really recommend? The thing that makes the one it come with attractive is just that it looks like it fits in nicely and doesn't take up much room, hassle free.

Thanks guys

·
Registered
4,964 Posts
Welcome, and happy birthday.

The bazooka sub isn't good, and takes up a lot of room. You're not gonna find anything decent for cheap

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I didn't see it in person, just in pictures. I just liked the clean fit look it had. I was browsing through this forum for a while and saw a ton of stuff about what people added and how and it made my head spin

Let's say on the 1-10 scale, the bazooka stock option is a 3. Then I just want a 5 or a 6. Doable within $400 or so total? I care almost more about how it looks in the trunk (and how easy or hard it is to get it that way) then just how strong or w/e it is.
Even stock sound without the sub will sound nicer then any of my older cars.