Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After washing my tC (Mr Clean Autodry), I found three rock chips: two on the hood and one on the front fender. I have had the car for only a month now and this sorta irks me. My wife's car (a Corrolla) doesn't have any chips in the hood and she has had it for two years.

I know that cars will get blemishes, rock chips, scratches and the like, but what I found funny (i'm no car expert) is that the paint doesn't have a thickness to it from the chip on the hood. I was expecting to see some layers of paint. Has anyone else experienced this? I see gray material right where the chip is, and no layering of paint around it.

On Scion Life I found this post: http://www.scionlife.com/forums/viewtopic.php?t=30013
regarding a lot of other people with similar problems. I don't think the paint should chip like this; I'll need a new paint job after a year.

Is this paint defective? Comments, and experiences would be appreciated.

From what I have read the 2006 Scions have a new paint lot that will be used.

The camera that I have can't get a clear enough shot of the rock chips, so no pictures.

·
Registered
832 Posts
The paint is very thin on these cars, but I wouldn't call it defective. I wish I had waxed my car when I first got it to help protect the paint, but I didn't a couple of chips here and there is my punishment.

·
Registered
15,001 Posts
Originally posted by Plissken@Jun 25 2005, 09:18 PM
You have a pebble or rock shot at you at 50-80 mph and see how well you fair. Rock chips are a fact of life.