Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ANY HELP IS APPRECIATED..I AM A TECHNO DUMMY.
..OK....I HAVE A CREATIVE MP3 (NOT AN IPOD) AND THE CONNECTION CABLE THAT THE DEALERSHIP GAVE ME DOES NOT FIT MY MP3. WHAT DO I NEED TO DO TO GET THIS TO WORK? DO I NEED TO BUY A DIFFERENT CONNECTION CABLE OR WHAT? ALL REPLIES ARE APPRECIATED, THANKS!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
145 Posts
im not sure if a new cable will do anything b/c the setup might be only for ipods

personally id just buy an ipod b/c i think they are the best for portable music player, but that cost $300

another option is to buy an fm tuner, but sound quality wont be as good and you wont be able to control your mp3 player with your stereo controls, but it only cost about $40
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
191 Posts
well first off FM tuners aren't that great at times so i'd find a different way. though if you have an 05 tC that will be ur only choice. though, if you have an 06.. you can always use the aux plug located in the center consul.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
oops, sorry about that I type in all caps at work...sorry!

I have an 06 tc as someone asked earlier. How are others playing their mp3 if they are not ipods? Should I just get an ipod, I really don't want to do this but if it is my only option, I will. Any advice, opinions and thoughts welcome.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
542 Posts
wouldn't it be almost as cheap to upgrade the head unit than to buy an ipod? (i'd investigate the aux. input in the center console though)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
675 Posts
Originally posted by jrsracergirl8@Nov 19 2005, 04:29 PM
oops, sorry about that I type in all caps at work...sorry! 

I have an 06 tc as someone asked earlier. How are others playing their mp3 if they are not ipods? Should I just get an ipod, I really don't want to do this but if it is my only option, I will. Any advice, opinions and thoughts welcome. 
go to radio shack.. tell them you need a 1/8" male stereo to 1/8" male stereo audio cable.. plug one end into the headphone jack of the creative mp3 player.. the other end into the AUX connector inside the center arm rest/console.. push AUX on the radio and push play on the creative mp3 player..

there ya go.. now it works
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
191 Posts
Originally posted by JBranger@Nov 20 2005, 06:44 AM
Question.

Would this allow you to control the player via the h/u? I have an 05, but I was just wondering. Thanks.
nah, it'll just let ya hear the sound comin out of ur player through the speakers. all the controls still have to be done on the player itself.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
QUOTE
go to radio shack.. tell them you need a 1/8" male stereo to 1/8" male stereo audio cable.. plug one end into the headphone jack of the creative mp3 player.. the other end into the AUX connector inside the center arm rest/console.. push AUX on the radio and push play on the creative mp3 player..[/b]
Thanks the above suggestion worked!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
675 Posts
Originally posted by jrsracergirl8@Nov 24 2005, 01:08 AM
QUOTE
go to radio shack.. tell them you need a 1/8" male stereo to 1/8" male stereo audio cable.. plug one end into the headphone jack of the creative mp3 player.. the other end into the AUX connector inside the center arm rest/console.. push AUX on the radio and push play on the creative mp3 player..
Thanks the above suggestion worked!
[/b][/quote]
glad to hear it's working for you now
you're welcome..
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
97 Posts
I have the same deal. Nomad Creative Zen Xtra 40gb. I use the 1/8 to 1/8. Only issue I have is I have to crank up the volume on the HU as well as on the player itself. Not complaining though, sure beats the FM Transmitter.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
8 Posts
I have an '05 RS tC and I am also trying to find a way to hardwire my iPod into the stock radio receiver. Would this method potentially work? Could I connect the 1/8 male from the iPod to an audio aux connector on the back of the receiver? (If there is one) Any help is appriciated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
675 Posts
Originally posted by italian906@Nov 29 2005, 06:24 PM
I have an '05 RS tC and I am also trying to find a way to hardwire my iPod into the stock radio receiver. Would this method potentially work? Could I connect the 1/8 male from the iPod to an audio aux connector on the back of the receiver? (If there is one) Any help is appriciated.
the 05 radio doesn't have an aux input, unlike the 06 that has one in the center armrest console.. you can get an aftermarket input from PIE (precision interface electronics).. it piggybacks the factory wiring harness to the radio and allows an aux input.. people who have used it says it works great..

http://www.logjamelectronics.com/pietoy03aux.html (found the link from PIE's website.. http://www.pie.net)
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
Originally posted by sciontc_mich@Nov 30 2005, 01:03 AM
the 05 radio doesn't have an aux input, unlike the 06 that has one in the center armrest console..  you can get an aftermarket input from PIE (precision interface electronics).. it piggybacks the factory wiring harness to the radio and allows an aux input..  people who have used it says it works great..
I have used said input from PIE on my Sirius satellite receiver. It works very well! Perhaps one day I will have an MP3 player and will try that as well. In the meantime, I will attest that the PIE adaptor is a good piece of hardware to have if you have an 05 with stock h/u.

Cheers!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
372 Posts
With regards to the PIE interface and the 05 HU, it is easy to install. I forget if the instructions in the box are adequate or there are some on line, but it is real easy once you remove the dash cover in front of the radio.

What the interface allows is the use of two RCA jacks to hook up your satellite unit. All control, however, is done from the satellite unit.

This morning, I realized that the cable from sat. unit has a 3.5 mm plug. I took it out of the sat. unit and plugged it into the headphone plug of my Nano. I can now play MP3 out of my Nano!


Same issues as with the sat. unit - that is, all control is done from the Nano or your player. The 05 HU takes a free ride. As well, the output of the Nano is not that great, so you will have to mess with the volume levels of the MP3 player as well as the HU to get the volume you like.

Hope this was of some help. I did research the threads, but found nothing like this.

Cheers!
 
1 - 17 of 17 Posts
This is an older thread, you may not receive a response, and could be reviving an old thread. Please consider creating a new thread.
Top