Scion tC Forums banner

1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I wanted to learn on an older car, but I was never able to pick on up before my daily driver car died, so because I had wanted a manual transmission car, and I liked the tC, I picked out a 5speed. I've been driving various AT cars for the past 12 years and at one point, was driving a manual, so I thought it would come back easily, "like riding a bike". Yeah right.

My old car was an old late-70's RWD V-8 with a huge engine and was converted (badly) from automatic transmission to manual, so it shifted hard and required foot planted down a full halfway on the gas to get the thing not to stall when starting it in gear.

Definitly different than the supersensitive pedals of the tC. Not to mention that my death-grip on the shifter (necessary with the old car) is really not a good idea when trying to shift into 3rd and not first.

Seeming as how the other posts covering "Learning to drive manual trans. on my brand new tC" were kinda old, I hope you all didn't mind that I started a new thread.

(I did do a search and found this thread first: http://www.yoursciontc.com/forums/index.ph...arning+to+drive

I guess I'm more nervous about breaking the car or ruining the transmission or the clutch more than anything else. Stopping is easy, pulling over for impatient drivers is fine too. It's just the hills & getting it out of first without stalling or bucking the car forward that I need more practice on. Luckily there are plenty of empty parking lots near me. I'm pretty frustrated right now, but I'm sure I'll be liking this once I get back into the habit.

Is anyone else learning (or re-learning after a long absence) to drive MT on your new tC?

·
Registered
2,317 Posts
Search anything about shifting/clutching/clutch and you will find at least 4 other thread started about this very topic. There is a plethora of information that is easier to read than recreate.

·
Registered
31 Posts