Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,866 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Alrighty folks, I am looking into installing some LED footwell lights. I am going to go with blue because that is the color of my underbody light kit.

Light Kit

Secondly, I want to be able to hook these up to switches either illuminated or not doesn't matter but I want to know how I could run these bad boys. Any wiring diagrams or extra stuff would be greatly appreciated. I am a DIY so I have some basic knowledge of where stuff is on the car. I was hoping to put a toggle switch so that I could turn them on and off and I wanted to run it through the cigarette lighter.

Thanks for all the help.

Matt

·
Registered
453 Posts
okay u first need a relay and a switch....total cost at autozone, pepboys etc... 10-15 dollars...

2. find ur power source cigarette lighter as u mentioned will work.
3. using a butt connector tap the positive and of the cigarette lighter and connect it with the existing wire for the cigarette lighter as well as the positive wire(s) to the light kit.
4. u have options on the grounds, but i would keep it simple and tap into the ground of the cigarette lighter also (again using a butt connector)
the relay goes in between the power from the cigarette lgihter and you new lights....

on a relay there are 5 tabs, 2 go to the positive of ur switched device (ur light kit), anotehr goes to a chassis ground, another to the switching device, and one is the constant power coming in (from the cigarette lighter) it is pretty self explanatory on the back of a relay, just keep in mind that your constant 12v power is actually in your case the power lead coming from the cigarette lighter....

b/c u said u have a basic understanding i think that shoudl be more than enough info...however if u have anymore questions, feel free to ask.

a benefit to using cigarette power is that it turns of with the car, thus u dont run down ur battery, nor will u burn out ur lights