Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
255 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here. I love what everyone has done with the TC!! All of your pics are real beauts!

Anyways, I have just ordered my FM TC and was wondering how I should break it in when it arrives next year (ridiculous wait). Is it necessary? Or is the process just an old wives' tale? What is the standard protocol?

Thanks all!

PS If this has already been discussed, my apologies. I couldn't find it with the search function.

·
Premium Member
16,504 Posts
Welcome to the site!! Congrats on your new tC order. I think you'll really love the car. To break mine in i just followed what the manual said. I figured Toyota built so they'd know how to not break it.

·
Registered
675 Posts
i 2nd that.. don't listen to these people who say "drive it hard".. revving it hard, etc.. why should they care? they don't have to live with your car! I just was easy on it for the first 1000 miles.. fastest I got to was 65..

definitely be easy on the brakes for the first 200-300 miles.. otherwise you'll end up glazing the rotor and that won't be good.. once their broken in, you'll feel more stopping power when you apply the brakes

the engine? same thing, easy acceleration (who cares if the person behind you wants to floor it, let them go around).. and no constant speeds.. like holding it at 40 for awhile or 50 for awhile.. slow down, then slowly speed up again..

YES, it's annoying but it'll help you for the life of your engine.. others MIGHT try to say that this is a myth.. but hey what's it really going to hurt to take it easy for 1000 miles?

after 1000 miles I changed my oil.. it's a safe thing to do, plus you get 3 free oil changes

·
Premium Member
7,429 Posts
welcome to the site!

this is what the owners manual has to say about breaking in you car.

Originally posted by Scion tC Owner's Manual page 132
Break–in period
Drive gently and avoid high speeds.