1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·

·
Registered
4,964 Posts
I'd go with the BF Goodrich tires.... They're rated #1 in the class...

·
Registered
5,192 Posts
Sorry this one's not my field of expertise; I've no personal experience with either tire, so what Nick there said makes sense to me as far as were I to choose between those two.

-Ed

·
Registered
413 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·

·
Former '05er
12,467 Posts
You won't be disappointed with either of them for street driving. I would be a little concerned about the road noise though. If you don't like road noise, neither of these tires is going to be stellar. If road noise isn't a big deal, buy the cheaper tire and call it a day. Kumho has spent a lot of time and money building a following in competitive motorsports, they don't have any bad tires any more. KDWs are great tires too, so you won't go wrong with either one.

A 2 pound difference in weight for a street tire isn't a huge deal. If you are competing, sure, it's a lot, but for street duty, I wouldn't use weight as a primary selection criteria. If the sidewalls are fragile because the weight is low, you'll be a lot unhappier if you tear a sidewall than if you have 8 extra pounds across four wheels. That's not to say the Kumhos are fragile, it's just an example.

Personally, I'd buy the Kumhos if I had to choose between the two.

·
Registered
1,233 Posts