Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 39 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newb when it comes to wheels 'n tires, I am 99% sure a 18x8 35 offset rim will work I just want to know what kind of look is that gonna accomplish on the Tc. Will it be flush, etc?

the rims in question:

Plannin on wrappin it in pirelli P-Zero Nero M+S 225/40/18 unless someones got some wisdom to suggest otherwise.

Thanks

·
Former '05er
12,467 Posts
It will be wide and it might rub. At 8" and 35mm offset you're adding 22.5mm toward the outside with that width and offset. I added 16mm by using an 8.5 with a 48mm offset, and it's very close. A 40mm offset would be safer if you can get it in that combination.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
lo buxx, your killin me I scoured the net all weekend and now that i think i finally can settle on some rims your tellin me they may not fit, upsetting. Just kiddin, thanks for the heads up I guess I'l have to go with my second choice:

18x7.5 42's will treat me right wont they?

·
Registered
742 Posts
I have 17x8 +35mm with 235/40/17's and no rubbing;)

My tires are wider than 225's and the diameter of the wheels should not matter, you should be fine:)

Lobux and I agree on most things but not always:)

Rick

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Interesting....with the 1.4" TRD spring/strut drop is that going to complicate things? Where on the car is the portion that is in question, is it the inside of the well or the outside lip of the well???

·
Registered
112 Posts
Good call lo bux. I have 18X40 +35 w/ TRD springs and when I load up the back, the rear tires rub slightly on the inner lip of the fender. It looks like rolling the upper edge of the rear fender will solve the problem though. As lo bux said, it's very close.

·
Former '05er
12,467 Posts
Originally posted by mr_lore@Apr 18 2005, 09:20 AM