Scion tC Forums banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been confused in recent posts about the TRD exhaust and the fact that it's an axle back system, but produces more power than a cat back would...???

because it's a naturally aspirated system? what does that mean?

These are probobly newbie questions, but ...well, i'm a newbie at this stuff. Just seeking some guidance.

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #2

·
Registered
936 Posts
my answer to your question is: nothing. The only difference from an axle back to a catalytic converter (cat back) exhaust is the piping that spans the distance from the cat to the axle. Dont beat yourself up over power loss differences with these systems, because the only real way to gain a significant amount of power is to switch to high flow cats or eliminate them completely. Unfortunatley neither a cat or axle back system replaces the catalytics converter therefore resulting in minimal (3-7hp) gains. - T

·
Registered
1,302 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Originally posted by TCrazy@Jul 20 2004, 06:21 AM
Dont beat yourself up over power loss differences with these systems, because the only real way to gain a significant amount of power is to switch to high flow cats or eliminate them completely.
thanks, T.

is it really expensive to do that? how much of a gain are we talking about here? Also, is it street-legal to do so?

·
Registered
936 Posts
Originally posted by whosthatrussian+Jul 20 2004, 10:03 AM-->QUOTE (whosthatrussian @ Jul 20 2004, 10:03 AM)
<!--QuoteBegin-TCrazy
@Jul 20 2004, 06:21 AM
Dont beat yourself up over power loss differences with these systems, because the only real way to gain a significant amount of power is to switch to high flow cats or eliminate them completely.
thanks, T.

is it really expensive to do that? how much of a gain are we talking about here? Also, is it street-legal to do so? [/b]