Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to the car thing, don't know much about them besides driving to point A to point B, but I was wondering if you could modify an automatic tC to become a Manual? thanks to anyone who can answer the question.

·
Former '05er
12,467 Posts
Yes, but it isn't cost effective. With the current resale value of tC's you'd be way ahead to just sell the auto and buy the manual new (not used).

·
Registered
4,964 Posts
For a shop to do this, expect to pay $4k-5k... Better off trading.

·
Registered
21 Posts
You definantly don't want to replace the auto to get a manyal tranny you need engine stuff, interior stuff... you might make some money with the resale valuse of the tC and the 1000 dollar price difference on the sticker price Autrovs. Manual

·
Registered
868 Posts
Okay guys, serious question time. My really good friend has an 05 tC automatic. He was retarded, and wen't from an 04 xA right to an 05 tC and moved about 5 thousand dollars of negative equity to the tC, which made him finance a little over $26,000 for six years to drive his car. He's since realized his stupidity, and has tried many times at numerous dealers to buy a cheaper car (like an aveo/rio/accent) and move the now $8000 negative equity into a new car loan. But, no bank will do this b/c that's asking for a loan that's way more than what the car he want's to buy is worth.

Okay, so here is my real question. Since he's come to the conclusion that he's stuck with this car for the rest of eternity, and he really REALLY regrets buying a tC with the wrong transmission, (he claims he didn't know how to drive a manual at the time he purchashed it [neither did i, but i have a 5-speed