Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First, I would like to say I'm kind of new on here and I spent a some time going through the posts during my wait for my Tc, which I just picked up a few days ago, and this forum has been very helpful in answering a lot of my questions, thanks.

ok. Here's what I'm putting into my car:

two 10W3 V2 JL Audio 10" DVC subwoofers (rear corners of the trunk)
500/1 JL Audio Mono Amplifier (storage space by the spare)

I'm running them off the stock headunit with Scion RCA wire adaptor plug kit.

Now my concern is that someone said putting the amplifier there by the spare might burn it up because there's no airflow. Can someone give me input on this? Is it going to be alright putting the amp there? Any suggestions?

Thanks.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
I've put mine there. It's not all hooked up, though, so I don't know if it gets hot or not. I'm assuming it will, especailly if you keep the carpet flap over the amp. I'm going to hook up 2 fans to blow air over the amp when I get it finished. I'll post pics when I get done. Maybe this weekend, if it doesn't rain.

late
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
252 Posts
Originally posted by saywuah@Oct 13 2004, 01:05 AM
First, I would like to say I'm kind of new on here and I spent a some time going through the posts during my wait for my Tc, which I just picked up a few days ago, and this forum has been very helpful in answering a lot of my questions, thanks.

ok. Here's what I'm putting into my car:

two 10W3 V2 JL Audio 10" DVC subwoofers (rear corners of the trunk)
500/1 JL Audio Mono Amplifier (storage space by the spare)

I'm running them off the stock headunit with Scion RCA wire adaptor plug kit.

Now my concern is that someone said putting the amplifier there by the spare might burn it up because there's no airflow. Can someone give me input on this? Is it going to be alright putting the amp there? Any suggestions?

Thanks.
The amplifier will not "burn up" if it is covered, however, you will reduce the heat-sink's ability to pull heat away from the internal components.
Amplifiers have thermal protection. Most amplifiers will shut off when the temp rises above the manufacturers set thermostat. Your amplifer has an advanced thermal management system that will roll back power until the temp gets under control. So it will play, but the amp will go into thermal protection much faster than it would if it was not covered.
If you want the amp hidden, I recommend placing it under the front seat if possible. I would check fitment for you, but I didn't drive my TC to work today.

PM me with any questions you may have about JL Audio.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks alot guys. My friend is already done with the fiberglass and a wood board as the new trunk floor, but we haven't put anything in coz the rca adaptor I ordered is not here yet. So I'm gonna talk with him about the amp location again.

Originally, we were gonna put the subs behind the rear seats on the sides and mount the amp to look as if it's floating. The idea didn't work coz I didn't wanna sacrifice much trunk space, the ability to recline the rear seats, or not be able to take out the spare tire. So, I'm stuck where I am right now.

Thanks again JLTD for the info and Josh, it'll be great if you can put some pics up whenever you're done and let me know how everything works. BTW, what are you putting in?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
252 Posts
Just so you know, adaptors are not needed with the 500/1. You can splice rca's right the the OEM speaker wire. The amp has differential inputs so don't try this with any amp. If you don't want to cut up an RCA, you can use this.
Good luck with your system.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
189 Posts
i put my amp under the front passenger seat
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
223 Posts
Originally posted by saywuah@Oct 13 2004, 01:43 PM
Thanks alot guys. My friend is already done with the fiberglass and a wood board as the new trunk floor, but we haven't put anything in coz the rca adaptor I ordered is not here yet. So I'm gonna talk with him about the amp location again.

Originally, we were gonna put the subs behind the rear seats on the sides and mount the amp to look as if it's floating. The idea didn't work coz I didn't wanna sacrifice much trunk space, the ability to recline the rear seats, or not be able to take out the spare tire. So, I'm stuck where I am right now.

Thanks again JLTD for the info and Josh, it'll be great if you can put some pics up whenever you're done and let me know how everything works. BTW, what are you putting in?
Its an amp and 2 10's that came out of my last car. The amp is a 700s Fosgate and the 10's are Infinity Perfects. I'm going to make a ported box that is slanted on the back so the seats recline.

I'm going to try to start on the boxes tomorrow and hopefully get done by this weekend. Vacations rock!

late
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
thanks alot JLTD, wish I knew about all that earlier before I ordered the adapter. josh, can't wait til you get done with your system man.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,713 Posts
Originally posted by saywuah@Oct 13 2004, 01:05 AM
First, I would like to say I'm kind of new on here and I spent a some time going through the posts during my wait for my Tc, which I just picked up a few days ago, and this forum has been very helpful in answering a lot of my questions, thanks.

ok. Here's what I'm putting into my car:

two 10W3 V2 JL Audio 10" DVC subwoofers (rear corners of the trunk)
500/1 JL Audio Mono Amplifier (storage space by the spare)

I'm running them off the stock headunit with Scion RCA wire adaptor plug kit.

Now my concern is that someone said putting the amplifier there by the spare might burn it up because there's no airflow. Can someone give me input on this? Is it going to be alright putting the amp there? Any suggestions?

Thanks.
I would make a couple of AIRHOLES along the sides of the amp rack & install small computer cooling fans to blow air along the heat sinks of the amp.... you can hook them up to the power & ground of your amp to turn them on with an on/off relay switch on the dash where the power mirror switch is.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,713 Posts
Originally posted by saywuah@Oct 14 2004, 10:44 PM
hmm....that's a cool idea...i'm gonna see if i can make it work...thanks
It does work... I did it on mine... the only thing tho... you might pick up engine noise.
Option: Find out what the optimal temp is for the amp... you can then attach one of those battery operated temp guages that has an "outside" temp reading & attach it to one of the heat sinks on the amp & run the wire to the display on the dash or somewhere visible & use it to guage the temp to where you would want to turn the fans on to cool the amp.
 
1 - 11 of 11 Posts
Top