Scion tC Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
1,117 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
hey guys am i doing sumthing wrong? my amp seems to over heat pretty soon to me. im new to audio additions but i've had the amp and sub for about 3 weeks and after 45 minutes to an hour the amp cuts out to cool. ok i know it might just be the music i listen to but hey isnt the point of buying a sub to get that heavy bass out of this bass heavy music? i took it to the audio place i got it installed and he taught me sum stuff about it and lowered the gain but ts still clipping. just a little later. do i need to turn the bass down even more? its already at -2! by the way its a TMA 320 wat amp bridged to a ''10 JL w3v2 sub.

·
Registered
6,586 Posts
This is just my limited car audio experience talking here, but it sounds like a crappy (or malfunctioning) amp.

·
Registered
109 Posts
There are many articles on this..

First off, you have to look on how your amp is mounted, it should be mounted vertically. meaning it should not be laying face down on the trunk or anything like that. You want to keep the air moving near it, so dont cover it with anything.

If you have a box, you want to mount it vertically on the back or sides of the box.

It should be mounted: Unit Horizontal, Mounted Vertical or Unit Vertical, Mounted Verticle.

Please tell me how your sub is mounted. I run a 350 watt and never have this problem!

There are a couple of solutions. One, (google for amp+fan+wiring) you need to set up a fan from the power source either on the amp itself or another source. Most people do it from the amp itself. Although im not good with that kinda stuff and cannot do it myself.

If your amp doesnt have a fan built in (you would be surprised to see how many dont). Then you might have to choose that route if mounting it differently doesnt help (which it should, because my guess right now is that its laying on the back floor or just mounting face up somwhere)