Scion tC Forums banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Has anyone or does anyone know if an after-market alarm will work with with the stock key. It nice not having to carry a alarm remote and have it all in one key.

Oh by the way.. I picked up my silver streak (5sp) at about 8pm earlier this evening. Spoiler, floor mats, Florida State plates, and wheel locks. Not alot compared to some but enough to keep me happy and my pocket 1/2 full for a while. [Insurance "ouch!"]

No noise from the roof, no knocking in the engine, shifts smoothly (though I sometimes don't). The only thing that takes some getting use to is the blind spots. It was night and it started raining on my way home from the dealer and I was mad nervous to change lanes. It even took a couple minutes to park when I got home because I was being carefull not curb the rims (which look better than some after-market).

At 34 miles I am at the very begining of the break in process. You can feel that the passing power as you drive but have to be good for right now. Yes the intake does whistle, I like it. Just sounds phat. Tires are just ok. I'm used to tires with more traction and tread but these look like they are gonna last a good time. I heard they aren't best quality but I'm saving for 18's and will just get new tires then; something sporty with alot of spokes to hide the brakes they are little bit too small.

Total Wait = 4 weeks + 1 day
(considering my first one fell off the truck!)
TC totaled in transport
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
I installed an AutoMate (made by Directed Electonics aka Viper) keyless entry add on alarm system with two sirens, horn honk, dual zone radar sensor, digital tilt sensor, dual impact sensor, hood/trunk pin switches, ignition disabler, window module to roll up the windows and I utilized the EXT output to vent/open the sunroof...all off the factory remote!! I also connected the pk lt output to the headlights instead due to the fact that the factory keyless already flashes the pk lts plus it draws alot more attention at night. It works great and adds REAL security to the factory setup.

There have been some comments about the knee airbag being in the way of the ignition wires. Here's a clue to make life easier. The access panel to the left of the st wheel will give you access to the top of the fuse block. All of the ignition harness wires are located here, as well as most of the other alarm wires. No need to remove the knee airbag.

Mount the sensors under the center console. This will allow for equal sensitivity of the sensors around the entire vehicle. Also, there is a plethora of room behind the glove box to mount the brain/relays. You'll have to extend the wires from the driver's side, but it makes for a much cleaner install (no rats nest under the dash) and will slow down a thief, making him search for the brain in order to bypass it. Just make sure you tape up your extended harness and run it with the factory harnesses to conceal it as well as possible. Remember, an security system is only as good as it's installation. The more time it takes a thief to find it, the less likely he'll stick around to finish the job.

Hope this helps!!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
55 Posts
i tried a search for this automate alarm that you have, but can't seem to find it. is it only available through automate dealers? someone in another forum said that.

if so, do you know of any other good upgrade system that is more widely available?

btw, how much does the automate system cost?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
The model is a Automate 415. I purchased it from a Viper dealer in Auburn, CA. You should be able to get it from your local Viper dealer. I installed it myself, having over 17 yrs installation experience. If you do not have experience with security installations, have an authorized dealer install it for you, but find a reputable one that will install it according to my guidelines above. I would guess that the above system with all the accessories/sensors I've described would run about $500 installed. YMMV. Don't be shy about spending some extra money for a quality installation. It really makes the difference between just another alarm and a real security system.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
I went to DEI's website and found that the Automate 415 is AKA the Hornet 700T. Same features w/o the expediter restrictions, so any Viper, Hornet, Python, Clifford or Avital dealer should be able to get it for you.

The other accessory model numbers are as follows:

Dual Zone Radar - 508D - $87.00 MSRP

Window Module - 530T - $147.00 MSRP
I used the 529T for about half the price. 530T adds one-touch open/close which our tC's already have and window vent/open, but you would have to lose the sunroof vent/open because it uses the EXT output.

Digital Tilt Sensor - Not Shown - About $50.00

Sunroof Open was accomplished using one Bosche relay and the EXT output enabled on the alarm brain. To activate the EXT, simply press the lock button twice within 3 seconds.

BTW - Here's the online owner's guide to the 700T:

http://www.alarms.com/guides/manuals/og/hornet/700T.pdf

Hope this helps a little more.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts
That sounds like a pimp alarm. Thankds for the info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,586 Posts
deuce_TC, congrats on your new tC!

About the blind spots -- don't worry much about it. I noticed the same thing the night I brought my tC home and was very concerned. Here we are just two weeks and about 300 miles later, and I'm already pretty used to it. The blind spots really aren't bad at all for a coupe; they just suck compared to the visibility you'd have with a well-designed sedan (like the Corolla I had before this car).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
187 Posts
That sounds like a pimp alarm. Thanks for the info.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,586 Posts
Yea, sounds like a great alarm -- do you by any chance live near Atlanta, Alpman? I could use some help with mine...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Oh yeah,

Grats on the new ride Deuce_TC. Got a little involved with my replies and forgot to say that.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Originally posted by basilisk4@Aug 18 2004, 05:11 AM
Yea, sounds like a great alarm -- do you by any chance live near Atlanta, Alpman? I could use some help with mine...
Nope, I'm in NorCal. But if you want to take a really long road trip to Cali.... JK!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,838 Posts
Originally posted by Alpman+Aug 18 2004, 06:16 AM-->QUOTE (Alpman @ Aug 18 2004, 06:16 AM)
<!--QuoteBegin-basilisk4
@Aug 18 2004, 05:11 AM
Yea, sounds like a great alarm -- do you by any chance live near Atlanta, Alpman?  I could use some help with mine...
Nope, I'm in NorCal. But if you want to take a really long road trip to Cali.... JK! [/b]
Alpman... dude... can you pimp my ride too!!!
Its only a 7 hours drive for me...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Originally posted by imasaf+Aug 18 2004, 10:16 AM-->QUOTE (imasaf @ Aug 18 2004, 10:16 AM)
Originally posted by [email protected] 18 2004, 06:16 AM
<!--QuoteBegin-basilisk4
@Aug 18 2004, 05:11 AM
Yea, sounds like a great alarm -- do you by any chance live near Atlanta, Alpman?  I could use some help with mine...

Nope, I'm in NorCal. But if you want to take a really long road trip to Cali.... JK!
Alpman... dude... can you pimp my ride too!!!
Its only a 7 hours drive for me... [/b]
LOL! I knew my comment would start this...sorry, not for hire. Gotta spend the few moments of free time I have pimpin MY ride...see the list of unfinished business I have in my sig?? I got more time than money and god knows I got no time for shiznit...looks like I'm one broke-ass mutha. HeHe.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,586 Posts
You should start charging people to do custom installs!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,838 Posts
Originally posted by Alpman@Aug 18 2004, 11:27 AM
LOL! I knew my comment would start this...sorry, not for hire. Gotta spend the few moments of free time I have pimpin MY ride...see the list of unfinished business I have in my sig?? I got more time than money and god knows I got no time for shiznit...looks like I'm one broke-ass mutha. HeHe.
Pretty please....
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #16
Thanks for the responses everyone.

Alpman I think I'm gonna look into your alram set-up. Sounds really secure. Having 1 car stolen off of South beach back in 99 is enough for me to know not to go with a cheap alarm. (the theives smashed the sunroof so they could joy ride with the windows still intact)



basilisk4 Today on the drive to work I adjusted my mirrors so the blind spots are alot better now. Its so humid down here and the AC is so cold that the windows fog up real easy. Rain X anti fog.

and if your gonna use Rain X, don't use the liquid. Use the windsheid wax. Save some elbow grease.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6,586 Posts
Glad to see you're finding the blind spots not to be quite as bad now...I think I'm also going to apply both Rain X and Rain X Anti-Fog to the appropriate surdaces.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
425 Posts
Alpman, how can I tell which DEI alarms work with the factory key transponder thing? I definitely don't want an extra little keyfob... And also, was it difficult to program or did you just have to wire it up to the receiving end (i.e. the power locks) in the vehicle?

EDIT: on the DEI site, directed.com, I do not see the Hornet model 700T either
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
The two models I mentioned are the only two DEI makes that will integrate into the factory keyless remote that came with our tC's. They do not give much description on the 700T and have no reference to the 415 at all because it is an expiditer product, not a retail product. The link to the 700T is here:

http://www.alarms.com/security/hornet/horn_ke.asp

But the owner's manual link I posted above has alot more info on features and abilities of this product.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
730 Posts
Forgot to explain the connections to the vehicle...

It does not connect to the factory keyless module itself. It utilizes three door lock/unlock wires to arm and disarm the system. The lock wire will arm the system. The driver door unlock wire will disarm the system. And the "all doors" unlock wire will cancel the disarm command and continue to keep the system armed. If a theif uses a coat hanger or similar device to hit the unlock switch on the armrest and open the door, the alarm will system would trip, protecting the vehicle. The only way to disarm it is to use the factory keyFOB, unlock the doors with the key on the driver's door only (will not disarm from the pass door key), or disarm it after the system triggers with the key in the ignition and pressing the valet switch. The valet switch can also be programmed to respond only to a certain number of presses, that you determine, before it engages and disarms the system for even more security.

Also, always have the valet switch well hidden and out of reach for added security. It may be more difficult for you to access, but how many times are you really going to use this switch? Isn't it better to protect the vehicle and inconvenience you every once in a while than to have a weak link in your security system?

Never install the valet switch in the kick panel, under the dash or even in the glove box. These are common places theives know to look. Try more obscure places such as behind the glove box, in the rear view mirror, behind an access panel or under the seat.

All other connections are the same for any other security system...door pins, lights, pwr, gnd, ign, starter wires, horn wire, etc.
 
1 - 20 of 34 Posts
Top